Boucles d'oreilles Octavie

$235.00

Ces boucles d'oreilles adorables sont délicates et douces, et ont un design très actuel ! En fait, la paire est inspirée d'un exemple de l'ancienne Rome. Le motif à l'avant était très populaire dans l'art romain, et bien qu'il semble représenter un cœur, il s'agit en réalité d'une belle feuille de lierre. En tant qu'attribut du dieu Dionysos, le lierre était un puissant symbole associé au bonheur éternel.

Une Octavie importante à l'époque romaine était Octavie la Jeune (69 - 11 av. J.-C.), la jeune sœur du dirigeant sous lequel Rome deviendrait un empire, Octavien/Auguste. Cette Octavie était également la quatrième épouse de Marc Antoine, avec qui elle eut deux filles avant qu'il ne la divorce pour vivre avec la reine Cléopâtre VII d'Égypte. En tant que membre puissant de la famille impériale, Octavie était admirée pour sa force, sa loyauté, son humanité, et le fait qu'elle était, selon tous les comptes, la parfaite matrone romaine.

"[Auguste] était extrêmement attaché à sa sœur, qui était, comme on dit, une femme merveilleuse...[possédant] une grande beauté, intelligence et dignité." - Plutarque (Ier/IIe siècle ap. J.-C.), Antoine, 31.1-2

Détails des boucles d'oreilles

Hauteur totale : 2,5 cm (1 po)

Largeur de la feuille : 1,2 cm (0,5 po)

Métaux Précieux Disponibles et Prix

Argent Sterling 925 : 145 $

Or 18 carats sur Argent Sterling : 235 $

Or 14 carats : 425 $

Or 18 carats : 685 $

Gold and Silver Type

We are thrilled to be in this month's issue of British Vogue!

Octavia Earrings
Octavia Earrings
Octavia Earrings
Octavia Earrings
Octavia Earrings
  • Load image into Gallery viewer, Octavia Earrings
  • Load image into Gallery viewer, Octavia Earrings
  • Load image into Gallery viewer, Octavia Earrings
  • Load image into Gallery viewer, Octavia Earrings
  • Load image into Gallery viewer, Octavia Earrings

Octavia Earrings

Regular price
$180.00
Sale price
$180.00
Regular price
Sold out
Unit price
per 

These darling earrings are delicate and sweet, and have a design that is so current! In fact, the pair is modeled after an ancient Roman example. The design on the front was a very popular motif in Roman art, and while it appears to depict a heart, it was, in fact, a full and beautiful ivy leaf. As one of the attributes of the god Dionysus, ivy was a powerful symbol associated with eternal happiness.

One prominent Octavia in Roman times was Octavia the Younger (69 - 11 BC), the younger sister of the leader under whom Rome would become an empire, Octavian/Augustus. This Octavia was also the fourth wife of Mark Antony, with whom she had two daughters before he divorced her to live with Queen Cleopatra VII of Egypt. As a powerful member of the imperial family, Octavia was admired for her strength, loyalty, humanity, and the fact that she was, by all accounts, the perfect Roman matron.

"[Augustus] was exceedingly fond of his sister, who was, as the saying is, a wonder of a woman...[possessing] great beauty, intelligence and dignity." - Plutarch (first/second century AD), Antony, 31.1-2

Earring Details

Overall height: 2.5 cm (1 in)

Width of leaf: 1.2 cm (.5 in)

Available Precious Metals and Prices

925 Sterling Silver: $100

18 Karat Gold Over Sterling Silver: $180

14 Karat Gold: $380

18 Karat Gold: $580