Boucles d'oreilles Poppée

$235.00

Ces boucles d'oreilles luxueuses sont magnifiques et élégantes, et font une vraie déclaration. Opulentes à l'avant, elles présentent le crochet romain distinctif à l'arrière. Les preuves montrent que ce type était incroyablement populaire dans le monde romain, comme en attestent les nombreux exemples trouvés. Cette paire particulière est inspirée de boucles d'oreilles datant d'avant 79 après J.-C., trouvées lors des fouilles de la ville romaine d'Herculanum, dans la région de la baie de Naples. Nos boucles d'oreilles sont disponibles en deux tailles.

Poppée Sabine (30 - 65 après J.-C.) était une noble de la baie de Naples. Sa famille aristocratique était extrêmement en vue dans la région et possédait probablement beaucoup de biens, comme le suggèrent les preuves de Pompéi et de la villa d'Oplontis. Poppée allait conquérir le cœur de l'empereur romain Néron, connu pour ses excès et son extravagance, qu'elle épouserait.

Tant Poppée que sa mère étaient décrites par les historiens anciens comme belles. "Il y avait à Rome une certaine Poppée Sabine ... sa mère, qui surpassait en attractions personnelles toutes les dames de son époque, lui avait légué à la fois la renommée et la beauté. Sa fortune correspondait adéquatement à la noblesse de sa lignée. Sa conversation était charmante et son esprit tout sauf terne...." - Tacite (Ier/IIe siècle après J.-C.), Annales 13.45

Détails des Petites Boucles d'Oreilles

Hauteur totale : 1,9 cm (.75 po)

Diamètre du grand dôme : 1,1 cm (.4 po)

Diamètre du petit dôme : 6 mm (.2 po)

Petites Boucles d'Oreilles : Métaux Précieux Disponibles et Prix

Argent Sterling 925 : 125 $

Or 18 Carats Plaqué sur Argent Sterling : 235 $

Or 14 Carats : 655 $

Or 18 Carats : 855 $

Détails des Grandes Boucles d'Oreilles

Hauteur totale : 3 cm

Diamètre du grand dôme : 1,5 cm

Diamètre du petit dôme : 0,9 cm

Grandes Boucles d'Oreilles : Métaux Précieux Disponibles et Prix

Argent Sterling 925 : 155 $

Or 18 Carats Plaqué sur Argent Sterling : 275 $

Or 14 Carats : 725 $

Or 18 Carats : 1 225 $

Gold and Silver Type
Size

Celebrating ancient artists: Announcing our new line of brooches inspired by iconic ancient artworks!

Poppaea Earrings
Poppaea Earrings
Poppaea Earrings
Poppaea Earrings
Poppaea - ROMAE Jewelry
Poppaea - ROMAE Jewelry
  • Load image into Gallery viewer, Poppaea Earrings
  • Load image into Gallery viewer, Poppaea Earrings
  • Load image into Gallery viewer, Poppaea Earrings
  • Load image into Gallery viewer, Poppaea Earrings
  • Load image into Gallery viewer, Poppaea - ROMAE Jewelry
  • Load image into Gallery viewer, Poppaea - ROMAE Jewelry

Poppaea Earrings

Regular price
$180.00
Sale price
$180.00
Regular price
Sold out
Unit price
per 

These luxurious earrings are gorgeous and sweet, and make a true statement. Opulent in front, they feature the distinctive and characteristic Roman hook at the back. Evidence shows that the type was incredibly popular in the Roman world, as the many examples found attest. This particular pair is modeled after earrings dating to before AD 79, found in the excavations at the Roman town of Herculaneum, in the Bay of Naples area. Our earrings are available in two sizes.

Poppaea Sabina (AD 30 - 65) was a noblewoman from the Bay of Naples. Her aristocratic family was extremely prominent in the area, and likely owned much property, as evidence from Pompeii and the villa at Oplontis suggest. Poppaea would win the heart of the Roman emperor Nero, known for his excesses and extravagance, whom she would marry.

Both Poppaea and her mother were described by the ancient historians as beautiful. "There was at Rome one Poppaea Sabina ... her mother, who surpassed in personal attractions all the ladies of her day, had bequeathed to her alike fame and beauty. Her fortune adequately corresponded to the nobility of her descent. Her conversation was charming and her wit anything but dull...." - Tacitus (first/second century AD), Annals 13.45

Small Earring Details

Overall height: 1.9 cm

Diameter of large dome: 1.1 cm

Diameter of small dome: .6 cm

Small Earrings: Available Precious Metals and Prices

925 Sterling Silver: $100

18 Karat Gold Over Sterling Silver: $180

14 Karat Gold: $540

18 Karat Gold: $750

Large Earring Details

Overall height: 3 cm

Diameter of large dome: 1.5 cm

Diameter of small dome: .9 cm

Large Earrings: Available Precious Metals and Prices

925 Sterling Silver: $120

18 Karat Gold Over Sterling Silver: $200

14 Karat Gold: $1,020

18 Karat Gold $1,560