Boucles d'oreilles Vipsania

$265.00

Ces boucles d'oreilles créoles sont ludiques et uniques, avec une forme de croissant plat avec de petites billes attachées sur le côté extérieur. Elles sont basées sur plusieurs exemples romains similaires du premier siècle après Jésus-Christ.

"Vipsania" est la forme patronymique féminine du nom Vipsanius. Une Vipsania notable était Vipsania Agrippina, la fille de l'homme de confiance d'Auguste, Marcus Vipsanius Agrippa. Vipsania a été fiancée par son père et Auguste au beau-fils de ce dernier et futur empereur de Rome, Tibère, alors qu'elle était encore enfant. Une fois marié, le couple était heureux et eut un fils ensemble. Finalement, Auguste ordonna à Tibère (qu'il avait maintenant adopté comme héritier) de divorcer de sa bien-aimée Vipsania afin qu'il puisse contracter un mariage politiquement stratégique avec la propre fille d'Auguste, Julia. Selon le biographe impérial, Suétone :

"... Même après le divorce [Tibère] regrettait sa séparation de Vipsania, et la seule fois où il eut la chance de la voir, il la suivit du regard avec une telle intensité et une telle larme que l'on prit soin de ne plus jamais la mettre devant ses yeux." - Tibère 7.3

Détails des petites boucles d'oreilles

Hauteur totale : 2,7 cm (1 po)

Diamètre de la boucle : 3 cm (1,2 po)

Métaux précieux disponibles et prix

Argent sterling 925 : 185 $

Or 18 carats sur argent sterling : 265 $

Or 14 carats : 555 $

Or 18 carats : 815 $

Gold and Silver Type

We are proudly participating in Milano Jewelry Week 2022!

Vipsania Earrings
Vipsania Earrings
Vipsania - ROMAE Jewelry
  • Load image into Gallery viewer, Vipsania Earrings
  • Load image into Gallery viewer, Vipsania Earrings
  • Load image into Gallery viewer, Vipsania - ROMAE Jewelry

Vipsania Earrings

Regular price
$400.00
Sale price
$400.00
Regular price
Sold out
Unit price
per 

These hoop earrings are playful and unique, featuring a flat crescent shape with tiny balls attached at the outer side. They are based on several similar Roman examples from the first century AD, such as a pair now housed in the Metropolitan Museum of Art, in New York City. They have a post back.

"Vipsania" is the female patronymic form of the name Vipsanius. One notable Vipsania was Vipsania Agrippina, the daughter of Augustus' right hand man, Marcus Vipsanius Agrippa. Vipsania was betrothed by her father and Augustus to the latter's stepson and the future emperor of Rome, Tiberius, when she was still a child. Once married, the couple were happy, and had a son together. Eventually, Tiberius was ordered by Augustus (who had now adopted Tiberius as heir) to divorce his beloved Vipsania so that he could enter into a politically-strategic marriage with Augustus' own daughter, Julia - whom he detested. According to the imperial biographer, Suetonius:

"...Even after the divorce [Tiberius] regretted his separation from Vipsania, and the only time that he chanced to see her, he followed her with such an intent and tearful gaze that care was taken that she should never again come before his eyes." - Tiberius 7.3

Earring Details

Overall height: 2 cm

Diameter of loop: 2.2 cm

Available Precious Metals and Prices

14 Karat Gold: $400

18 Karat Gold: $580